End of Term Christmas – tastic Fiery Bird Show with Lisa & Darren

24 Dec

The last show of 2016 and I was going to write a quick panto. This went pear shaped for two reasons, mainly I couldn’t be arsed and secondly half my cast were busy having fun with other stuff, so I asked the rest of the cast to come and do an end of term show with me. My guests were Lisa VonH & Darren Patoto, both of whom are listeners also as well as people I do stuff with in real life so I had to tread carefully here. At any time either one of them could have blown the roof off with sensational headline exposures that would shock you to the core, or most likely, roll your eyes and mutter ‘stupid woman’ (on top of all those other times) I am enjoying the Fiery Bird Show on Radio Woking it fits a niche, I think it is called Car Crash Radio….. here is the evidence if you want to listen again… 
Lisa and Darren entered into the studio with aplomb and if you have never seen a video of a grown man with the forearms that only 30+ years of drumming gives you, in flip flops, in December, twerking to White Horses by Jacky shouting ‘this toon is rubbish!!!’ but still doing it – then you can catch up here and I will accept the award for cutting edge journalism – I thank you! Lisa couldn’t even be arsed to get out of the chair – she wouldn’t cut the rug on Strictly that one at all. However her own live contributions to the evening were, as always fantastic….
Luckily most of the shenanigans that they got up to is off camera……. and the mics were down….
Wishing everyone a Merry Christmas and that everyone gets everything they wish for and deserve in 2017 back on 5 Jan and some lovely guests lined up for next year…..
The playlist is below, covering songs that made memories, people lost a while ago and still miss and people lost this year who had an impact on the background of our lives and songs that give us a bit of a laugh in these uncertain times. 
1 Winter Wonderland – Booker T & The MG’s- coolio Booker T….

2 This is Radio Clash – The Clash – Joe Strummer’s anniversary, not my favourite Clash song but the lyrics seemed right

3 War Is Over – Lisa VonH live (with help from the ensemble)

4 White Horses – Jacky  – because I still haven’t got the horse I asked my parents for for Christmas

5 The Little Boy That Santa Claus Forgot – Nat King Cole – Darren keeps asking for a mic in the band – he never gets one

6 Changes – David Bowie – apart from the obvious this has always been and end of/new year song for me

7 In A Broken Dream – Python Lee Jackson – waking up your parents going to get your presents being told to get back to bed it is only 1.30am 

8.Christmas Card From A Hooker In Minneapolis – Tom Waits -who knew they had rugby teams in Minneapolis?

9 Baggy Trousers – Madness – all the teachers in the pub……and in my day, the students too….

10 Out Of My Window – Lisa VonH Live Original

11 Soho Square – Kirsty MacColl – an empty bench in Soho square….a song by a woman who wasn’t only a proper songwriter but saved her kids lives…

12 Fairytale of New York – The Pogues/Kirsty MacColl

13 The Christmas Song – Nat King Cole ‘Chestnuts roasting on an open fire….’ if that doesnt make your eyes water I don’t know what will…..

14 Sign O The Times – Prince 

15 Have Yourself A Merry Christmas – Lisa VonH live

16 I thought I heard that train whistle blow – Alexis Korner’s Blues Incorporated – many friends moan about the trains – fancy that a song about one arriving

17 Merry Christmas Everybody – Slade 

18 White Christmas – Otis Redding 

19 Gimme Some – Nina Simone – ooer missis had to cut that off double quick at the end I say Nina!

20 To Be Someone (Didn’t We Have A Nice Time?) – The Jam – yes we did and still do

21. Always Look On The Bright Side Of Life – Monty Python – Always. Bought the non explicit one, played the wrong one, shouted over the bad bit.

Leave a Reply

